Peachy Dress & Playsuit Review

Let me start by saying I am sorry for being MIA for a while there, blogging life has had to take a back seat to family life for a while. But, I think we are back with a bang, this dress is just awesome (if I may toot my own horn a bit).

So let’s start at the top. The Peachy Dress & Playsuit pattern is by Felicity Sewing Patterns and can be purchased here. Stephanie is absolutely fantastic, I made a bit of a boo boo and emailed her to double check what I had done. Within 15 minutes I had a reply. Then family life took priority.

image

Just one of the reasons blogging has been delayed

I finally found a chance to sit down and keep going, only problem was, my bodice and flutter sleeves that were sewn up had grown legs, got up and ran away. So I cut it out again, ready to sew, and what do you know, no boo boo this time (Yippee). Now, I am a visual learner, so the more photos in a tutorial the better for me. And that’s how I made my boo boo to start with. I didn’t read it properly. In the tutorial, (as with just about every pattern I own) the designer is basically making the item with you, so their photos are going to show the actual fabrics used. Which is great for taking photos, but not necessarily when said photos are for a tutorial. So my advice here, read, read, read and read it again, so you get the tricky parts broken down to where you will understand.

image

Yep, it's trampoline suitable

So, this pattern has an INSANE amount of options. Flutter sleeves, neck ruffles, basic dress. Oh and can’t forget the Playsuit options, the list goes on and I really feel the options are only limited by your imagination. With so many options I was relived to see the pattern layout for individual options, everything is labelled well.

Having so many options isn’t such a bad thing, but, when having to jump backwards and forwards in the tutorial can make it confusing. I wasn’t a big fan of having to go back towards the start of the tutorial to join the skirt and bodice together. BUT I do understand why it has been set out this way. This certainly won’t be stopping me from making more of these fantastic dresses or even a few playsuits for my daughter.

image

The photos included in the tutorial are so clear, for the most part, just for the visual learners like me and the lack of mathematics was also a plus.
The sizes are spot on for my Miss A, bit of growing room but not enough to make it look like she is swimming in it.

All in all, this pattern is wonderfully written, alot of care has been taken to make sure any sewing level has a chance. But if there are any hiccups, I am sure Stephanie will be there to help, along with everyone else who has made a Felicity Sewing Patterns outfit. Oh and I can’t believe I have left the best bit till last,  Felicity Sewing Patterns are based right here in Australia, so now we have something else to brag about. Now I’ll leave you with a few more pictures of Miss A being a typical 2.5year old.

Happy sewing.

image

image

*Disclaimer: This blog post was sponsored by Felicity Sewing Patterns.*

Leave a Reply

